Users default groups

Presentation

An user has a default group, called his GID, which in fact represents the GID of the user default group (group_gid)

  • User's GID is automatically set on user creation.
  • The GID of an user is stored in the user, and the user is also member of his GID group. It is not possible to suppress the user's GID group membership.
  • An user's GID can be updated by selecting among the user's groups.
  • A group can't be deleted if it is the GID of any user

Automatic groups membership on User creation / update

On user creation

the user is automatically registered to the group (which become the user default group too) :

  • Windows Domain Users (513) if the user is flagged “windows”
  • Standard User group (1000) otherwise

So the GID selector is not displayed on user creation form

On user update

  • If the “windows” flag has just been set, the user is automatically registered to the “Windows Domain Users” group (513), which becomes his default group
  • If the “windows” flag has just been removed, the user is automatically registered to the “Standard user” group (1000), which becomes his default group
  • When the user's default group is changed (manually, setting/unsetting the windows flag), the user old default group membership is preserved

On user group update (from user groups screen)

  • If the user GID group has been unsubscribe, automatically register to it
specification/users/default_group.txt · Last modified: 2009/11/03 13:57 (external edit)
Driven by DokuWiki